Serving Seattle, Tacoma, Portland, Eugene, and intermediate points

Amtrak train numbers: 750 and 751

Predecessor railroad train numbers: See Mount Rainier

The Mount Rainier had run between Seattle and Portland since the inception of Amtrak in 1971 until being extended to Eugene in October 1994 as the first step toward building the Vancouver-Seattle-Portland-Eugene route into a high speed rail corridor. Following personal requests made by Oregon senator Mark Hatfield to Amtrak president Tom Downs, the Mount Rainier became the Cascadia in October 1995.

When the corridor trains began officially using the new Talgo equipment on December 1, 1998, the Cascadia and the other trains were renamed to the new Cascades umbrella title.

Condensed historical timetables:

READ DOWN              READ UP
 (1997)                (1997)
  5:10P Dp Seattle  Ar 12:45P
  6:05P    Tacoma      11:39A
  9:10P    Portland     8:50A
 11:45P Ar Eugene   Dp  6:10A

The Amtrak Train Names Project

Log in or register to write something here or to contact authors.